Young Jazz Composer’s Award and Other Good Times With Music

I just received word that I am a recipient of the 2012 ASCAP Young Jazz Composer’s Award, which is quite exciting! A lot of the heavy-weights in big band writing right now started their careers winning this award, and it’s a real honor and privilege to be among the award winners. Basically, it’s validation that I’m doing at least something right with all my jazz metal dubstep tinkerings.

Anyway, in other news, I recently spent a weekend recording with the Bloodline in a studio in Roxbury, MA in contribution to the new album. It was a pretty enlightening experience, simply because I myself haven’t done all too much recording, and every time I go into the studio I feel almost over my head. It’s so different from the groove you get into in live performance, but you have to bring the A game regardless. Fortunately, I was fairly well rehearsed on the material and I think it will all turn out really well since I could go balls out on stuff and not worry. I’m going in to the studio again in a few weeks to record with Justina Soto and the Salvation Armband, so stay tuned for that!

February is nice and busy with school and whatnot, including gigs with the Bloodline and the Whiskey Boys up in Boston, but I’m also doing some theater stuff, including Who’s Your Baghdaddy? at Joe’s Pub (winner of the 2011 Capital Fringe Festival Best Show) and Are You There Ann Margaret? It’s Me! I’m excited for both of these because I get to work with some really top notch up-and-coming music directors (Zak Sandler and Daniel Lincoln) that I’ve worked with in the past. Fun!

Anyway, that’s all for now!

-Adam

0 Responses to “Young Jazz Composer’s Award and Other Good Times With Music”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

Welcome to Adam Neely's blog/website. Check out his compositions, links, and information about lessons on the top bar, and enjoy the music!

Twitter Updates

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

