Rock and Roll

I haven’t been able to update my blog as much as I’d like recently, which is unfortunate. I’ve been busy with a lot of exciting projects, and I thought I’d share some of them right now with you all.

First, Christine and the Bad News finally has a website and a demo. For those of you who don’t know, Christine and the Bad News is my pop/rock band lead by the amazingly talented Christine Gallagher. Check out the website and the demo of “Come and Go” here. For those of you who are used to my “normal” jazz fusiontastic music this stuff might seem a little different, but I’ve had a blast working out arrangements and playing with these guys, and as soon as lead guitarist/cowriter Michael Hazani returns from Israel we should be hitting some really awesome gigs this summer including ones at Hard Rock cafe in Philly and *fingers crossed* the Stony Pony in Ashbury Park, NJ. Sweet!

Speaking of Christine, in addition to being a talented pop singer, she’s also a phenomenal “torch” style jazz singer. Check out me playing with her at Shanghai Jazz in Madison, NJ jamming to Someone to Watch Over Me.

Other recent youtubez that I’m excited to share include this version of my variations on Chopin’s prelude no. 20. My bass needs to be intonated pretty badly, but otherwise I’m pretty proud of the music I was able to coax out of the beast. Enjoy!

Also, I’ve been gigging somewhat regularly with The L Train, a cover band of mine that I’m doing most of the “bandleading” (booking gigs, scheduling rehearsals, etc). It’s been a lot of fun, and we have a pretty regular stint on Sundays at Spike Hill in Brooklyn now through July. It’s mostly good ol’ fashioned rock and roll of the 50’s and 60’s variety, and it’s been a blast to play. Nothing quite like it. Check out some of the debauchery below.

Finally, I recently played a gig in Brooklyn with the Whiskey Boys, a truly badass traditional/irish fiddle/guitar duo from Boston that happens to contain a couple of good friends of mine from college. I’m going to be going up to Boston to record bass on their latest album, Crescent Moon, in August, and the material that they wrote is pretty damn awesome. The title track, Crescent Moon, has got to be the most awesome tune I’ve ever played, and I mean that without hyperbole. I can’t find any youtube videos of them playing that tune, but enjoy this almost as badass tune about the Whiskey Rebellion.

Anyway, wow! From traditional acoustic music to pop rock to torch jazz to rock and roll, to even some metal (grainy video of a gig with a metal band I played with recently) I’m keeping all my basses covered (GET IT!?1?!) This doesn’t even account for the crazy jazz stuff I’m writing and working on, haha, so I definitely am busy keeping all the plates spinning. More updates to follow!

-Adam

0 Responses to “Rock and Roll”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

Welcome to Adam Neely's blog/website. Check out his compositions, links, and information about lessons on the top bar, and enjoy the music!

Twitter Updates

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

