The Bronx is Up and the Battery Down

I’ve made it here to New York alive and managed to survive for a couple weeks without dying from scurvy or being gnawed to death by killer subway rats, so I figure I’m solid for the next year or two. I moved here to study jazz composition at the Manhattan School of Music, and, presumably, make millions of dollars selling jazz CD’s and playing restaurant gigs for 50 dollars and two drinks. I’ve heard that this is the fastest way to become rich, so that’s clearly why I doing it. My dream of being an investment banker will have to wait. Sigh.

I know a lot of you are holding your breath, just waiting for the next crazy theory rant, but that sort of thing will have to go on the backburner. I hope to turn this blog more in a music pedagogy/teaching direction since that’s how I hope to pay rent while I’m up here (teaching, not blogging), but I’ll write crazy composition theory when I can. Something called “the Omniminor” is in the works. It’s pretty sweet.

-Adam

3 Responses to “The Bronx is Up and the Battery Down”


  1. 1 Cate September 18, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Well then, I might actually understand some of your posts. The last Berklee alumni magazine had a pedagogy article in it–something about a model for the new millenium. pfffft. Already there.

  2. 2 Michael Campbell September 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Best of luck in your new digs, Adam! Looking forward to any new posts.

  3. 3 Mark Frazier October 3, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Your crazy Theory articles are great, though. I’m all ears on the “Omniminor” idea – is that a mixing of different minor modalities into one all encompassing minor reality? Just wondering . . .


Leave a Reply

About

Welcome to Adam Neely's blog/website. Check out his compositions, links, and information about lessons on the top bar, and enjoy the music!

Twitter Updates

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

